Thank you and Goodbye @IndieInk

As most of you know, I’m an aspiring fiction writer and this blog has been a record of sorts of my journey. It started with #Nanowrimo, and somehow I ended up at Indie Ink.

Each week, I would receive a prompt from another writer and then using that prompt, write a story. I was a beginner and admitted as much. I did my best though, and never felt belittled, inexperienced, or out-of-place.

The writers, and the folks that ran Indie Ink, were the most inspiring, friendly, and awesome people I have ever met. They provided an avenue for good constructive criticism and of course, compliments. Both used to help us grow.

I have to admit, some of the prompts curled my eyelashes and scared the shit out of me, but I dug in and wrote my story.  As time progressed, so did my writing. One of my stories ended up being nominated for the weekly “Editor’s Choice.” I didn’t win, but I was honored to be one of three in the group that week.

So, why the goodbye? Indie Ink has decided to close up shop.  I received this in my inbox this week:

“We regret to inform you that Indie Ink has passed on to the great heavens of the interwebs.

When the site began, its simple goal was to help, and that’s been true for nearly seven years.  Our goal was to help people write, be noticed, know each other, treat each other — the community — with respect and kindness and WRITE.  You mean something in the community and we’ve always wanted you to know that and feel it.

If at least one person felt better after being a part of this community, II succeeded in its only goal.  But, again, everything ends, and, sadly, II has ceased operations today.

We had a great run and we did some great things because of, and with you, the community.  Be kind.  Keep writing. We wish all the best for everyone who has ever supported us.

Thank you for an amazing six years.”

I can’t tell you how sad this makes me. I was a reader of the Indie Ink website long before I ever thought of writing one word of fiction. I was introduced to incredibly talented writers over the course of the past few years, and was challenged by a few of them this past year.

It’s ironic –  I was going to jump back into the challenges this week. Yes, I’ve been on a writing break over the past few months, and I’m ready to write again. I was actually looking forward to a writing challenge that scared the daylights of out me.

Thank you, Indie Ink. Thank you for providing a place for writers of all levels to write, share, discuss, learn, and grow. Thank you for the weekly challenges that truly challenged my imagination and my abilities. I am a better writer because of you — still growing, but so much better than when I started. I am grateful.

You will be missed…

One thought on “Thank you and Goodbye @IndieInk

Leave a Reply

