Project 52 – a photography addition to the blog

A long time ago, I loved to take pictures. I would snap pictures of nature, architecture, things…rarely people. Last year when we went on our vacation to Yellowstone (the picture in this post is one I took from that vacation), we bought a new digital camera. Since I was with the Mr, I left the setting on “easy auto,” so he could easily take pictures. I prefer to play with various settings. So, I started playing around with it lately and lo and behold, the photography bug bit me once again! I have a fabulous 35mm camera, but for now, I’m using the digital.

I take pictures because I can’t draw worth a damn. Seriously, my “Still Life’s” look rotten and I can’t draw a straight line with a ruler. I can however, take a picture. I’ve spent a lot of time on G+ lately and have come across fabulous writers and photographers. That’s how I found out about this photography Project.

Enter “Project 52.” This is a themed photography project on Google Plus (G+) open to everyone, beginner to professional, and is not a contest. However, there are guidelines. (Since the project has started, it is technically closed to new folks I believe.)  It is one theme (or subject) per week for the year. Each week, we research a different theme and then execute it any way we’d like, as long as it fits the subject. It gives us a chance to really get to know our camera, learn how to compose our shots better, and think about what we want to photograph. The nice thing though, we’re not pressured to create photographic masterpieces. We’re not being judged by anyone. We share within the circle (there are over 400 people in this circle) and we share the photograph’s publicly. The curator (and creator) of this project created a Google Page and the photograph’s are on the page as well.

I decided to add this Project to the blog as a blending of the arts so to speak. Maybe this will fit into the “graffiti” part of the blog!

I will be posting my photo’s weekly, after I have submitted them. Just a simple photo post, with the theme/subject of the week and perhaps a word or two on what my photo is.

I hope you like them.

2 thoughts on “Project 52 – a photography addition to the blog

  1. Pingback: Turning the page…it’s a New Year | Thoughts from the Farm

Leave a Reply

